Posted by: ableanna | April 24, 2010

Happy Birthdays

I’ve been struggling with an update here – just because so much has been going on at our store and now with two blogs to write for – I’m not sure where to take this one. I could definitely discuss and explain more about the store, but that feels a little redundant, no?

But just to recap the OTHER changes that go along with opening up the store – the largest difference in going from being employed to self-employed is the changes in family dynamic and my whole approach to having a job. For one, I’m no longer running around like a harried lunatic in the morning trying and no longer have thoughts like “I need a car” or “I need anger management” to get me through the day. My time with Ella in the morning is something wonderful and fun, not this marathon of getting through each step of the routine to try and get out the door by 7:45 a.m. – now we casually stroll out the door at 8:30. It’s a 45 minute difference – but what a HUGE difference. And again, in the evenings, getting home for 5 instead of 6? Makes dinner wayyyy more manageable. And fun? Yes.

How about walking into your shop every morning? A shop with lots of sunlight and beautiful fabrics and a lot of creative conversations that allow you to explore every facet of what you have learned, what you want to learn and how you can accomplish what you want to accomplish. I get to have coffee with my friends AND be at work at the same time. It’s like a dream come true.

It’s cochonet‘s birthday today – that’s my business partner & friend & & & & – and I could probably write a book here about her, but I think the key thing that marks her as one of those amazing people you meet (you know the type – you shake your head and think they must be part crazy to get done what they want to get done) is that she says “Yes” 99% of the time. I quickly noticed in my time writing the business plan, getting the store, renovating the store, running the store is that my default is fear-based and set in “no”. I can think up a thousand reasons why something should not be done and why it’s safer to stay put. That fear mechanism is good sometimes and it will help in our ability to balance the shop operations, but more often than not, I have found that saying “yes” opens doors to listening & learning, having new experiences, challenging yourself, inspiring others and being of help to more people. Thank you & Happy Birthday Emeline! The flowers below are for you, from small stump + studio choo:

flowers for Emeline

Virtual flowers for Cochonet

So, I must jump in the shower and get the house semi-ready for the imminent arrival of my family who’s driving in to the city to visit us today – the sleeping arrangements will be interesting. And Happy Birthday to BOTH of my brothers, too – can’t believe that my little brother is 15. And that the other is 23! I don’t even want to think about how old that makes me šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Categories

