Posted by: ableanna | March 5, 2009

What to do… What to do…

E only goes to school two mornings a week, but generally our entire routine is built on these two pillars of sanctity. It’s when I run, I meet friends for coffee and generally regroup enough to feel human all over again. The other three days fill up quickly with activity that I don’t feel my hands creeping into my hair trying to tear out ideas that will keep us in glad company. Every night E asks before bedtime “Why are we doing ooh’morrow?” (She’s my little existentialist)…

It’s March Break and I feel paralyzed. Cochonet is visiting her family. S kids are barftastic. P is in Florida. Playgroup is a hot zone for the noro/gastro-virus. And I forgot to extend a lifeline to other parents at school last week. My playdate potential is zilch and the park is covered in three feet of dirty rock-filled mush and ice. It’s also FREEZING outside. So what to do… What. To. Do. At first I continued with our general mainstays of fun i.e. Let’s Help Mummy With The Laundry! Again!
playdough1playdough2
Yesterday I felt inspired to make play-dough from scratch; I found a really easy recipe online:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil

No cooking involved in this recipe and it provided us a good hour of fun, especially if your child is over the age of 2. The first time I made this recipe E was 15 months; she sniffed it and pushed it onto the floor… and that was it for the play-dough play. Yesterday was Play-dough Part Two and it fared much better at the box office.

We went to the McCord Museum today for the Robert Munsch exhibit and it was… alright. (Can’t they have Munsch on standby for the daily storytelling session? Some bored teenager sitting cross legged on the floor reading Murmel Murmel Murmel isn’t as effective). Nevertheless, the outing killed three hours of our morning, which is ALWAYS a good thing.

Responses

  1. You shoul-dah/coul-dah called on us! We’re feeling you over here. It’s been a long, long week!

    Big J took little J to get her hair cut, he was so hurting for something to do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

