Posted by: ableanna | November 11, 2008

Remembrance

Today marks the 90th anniversary of the end of the first world war.

At 18, my grand-father joined the British Navy in WWII. As a parent, I just can not even fathom being in that position of sending my child off to war. I think of all of those women left at home with the uncertainty of the husband’s return and without help to raise their children. I think of all the letters written between my grandmother and my grandfather while he was away.

My Grandfather was quiet and reserved and strong. He remains a mystery because there was so much he did not talk about. I do know that he loved Bill Watterson’s Calvin & Hobbes comic strips. One of my greatest treasures is my Grandfather’s naval seaman’s starter handbook that was given to all of the soldiers in training, he barely kept anything in his life, so for him to pass it on to me is incredibly special.

Anyway, I’m rushing to write this. Tonight also marks the end of Vigil. Take a moment to remember.

Dieppe, 1942

Dieppe, 1942

This image was taken from here… it reminded me of some of the photographs of my Grandfather during his travels with the navy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

