Posted by: ableanna | February 1, 2010

the deep freeze

I went to Las Vegas for work almost two weeks ago. I’m not sure if it was the excitement of being out on my own for five days or the break from routine in such a MAJOR way, but I found myself unable to covet the time I had sleeping alone in a hotel bed. Instead I slept 3 hours a night on average. Since my return I have done nothing but covet my sleep, with bed before 11 and on the weekends ANY chance I got I was nodding off and taking a nap. Last night I slept 12 hours after my 2 hour mid-day nap. This is very weird for me. I don’t DO sleep. I like the idea of it, but the idea of having time to myself normally wins over for any real chance at a decent bed-time. I have recognized that this will probably make me look 50 by the time I am 35, but I can’t help it.

With a week of ample sleep under my belt, here I am on a Sunday night perusing all the long lost blogs I used to visit so regularly and getting caught up in this community of which I occasionally take part. I so want to be vigilant and diligent in this area… but then I also want to be diligent when it comes to cleaning the bathroom. (I cleaned my neglected and disturbingly dirty bathroom today and I’d like to know how hair gets on the ceiling? We’re tall people over here, but we’re not Guinness Book tall. Anyway, it’s disgusting.)

Some highlights from my blog-reading night:

  • smittenkitchen via cochonetrouge, leave it to -30somethingwithwindchill to make me feel like anything but pasta basics and pizza are the extent of my menu plan. I can’t wait to try some of these recipes out, especially this black bean & cumin recipe (two of my all time favorite flavors)
  • wikstenmade‘s beautiful hat and scarf set has given me the direction I need; all my recent knitting projects were half-made and then unravelled… and thanks to her, I have found ravelry – can’t wait to explore more.
  • not that I don’t love every one of Jenna’s posts, but I found this post on sweet fine day particularly poignant and resonates with my own fears when it comes to E being at school
  • Jessica’s Fish Tank Chronicles on her linear ramblings is a post I read a little less recently, but since every second thing we do in our house now involves the fish tank (this weekend we added the vacuum pump and the algae scrubber as the latest additions to our growing inventory of Tank Tools), I felt like re-reading this post.
  • most peeps know I love wine, but now I am going to start a little book, as suggested by Dooce.
  • Uh, so, apparently Paul Rudd interviewed Jon Hamm. Paul Rudd has been good friends with Jon Hamm for 20 years. I… there are no words… for how perfect this is to me. It’s like the universe is starting to speak my language. (thank you fug girls).
Responses

  1. [...] Olympics? My enthusiasm has waned over the last 24 hours… but maybe that’s because the never ending saga with the fish tank continues to breakdown and look like its contents came directly out of the sewer. Still though, [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

